Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Thursday's "Chalk Talk"

We will be discussing how CrossFit measures a single quality:
by looking at the 10 General Physical Skills.
CrossFit defines "Fitness" by 4 standards:
1)  Ten recognized general physical skills. They are cardiovascular/respiratory endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, power, coordination, agility, balance, and accuracy. You are as fit as you are competent in each of these ten skills.

2)  Fitness is about performing well at any and every task.  The implication here is that fitness requires an ability to perform well at all tasks, even unfamiliar tasks, tasks combined in infinitely varying combinations. 

3)  Three metabolic pathways that provide the energy for all human action. 

4)  The Sickness-Wellness-Fitness Continuum.
A.  EMOM 10 min
10 goblet squats (30-40% of body weight)

B.  EMOM 10 min
5-7 TTB

Score= weight (post total reps of TTB in the notes)

*all reps on both EMOMs unbroken. The intent is to quickly complete all reps and then rest before starting again.
**It is recommended to choose a number of TTB that you can complete unbroken each round. You do NOT want to take the full minute to complete 7 TTB. Purpose= improve cycling the movements. So if you cannot cycle these yet, scale by doing 2 TTB then 5 knees to chest all 7 reps unbroken.

No comments:

Post a Comment